The Immortals of the 414th house of ΑΦΑ labored in a similar fashion as the Jewels of the fraternity. During the fall of 1972, seven young, inspired, determined, visionary, forward moving men from Millersville University were accepted into the membership intake process at the Delta Pi Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. at Cheyney University.  They’re names are:

  • Bro. Ralph Grey 

  • Bro. Lee Hollis Jr.

  • Bro. Roberto Jenkins (now Roberto Abdul Rashid)

  • Bro. Barry Koonce 

  • Bro. Andre Lewis

  • Bro. Ernie Lowe

  • Bro. Aaron Scales.

After months of hard work, these seven young men were bathed in the light of Alpha on December 2, 1972 along with six other men at Cheyney University.  They were respectfully named the Awesome Thirteen.

Since then, Iota Sigma has given birth to a vast amount of proud “Sons of Alpha” who have all pledged to continue to maintain the same standards the immortals set:


Hard Work • Perseverance • Taking the Initiative to Lead